Identity and a Cute House

IMG_0719

In the last several months, I’ve come to realize I have a ‘thing’ about cute houses.  I want one and there’s something about not having one that just doesn’t feel right.

The picture above is the house that we recently purchased in Carrollton.  I don’t even remember how long or how often it had been on the market.  The previous owners vacated it 3 years ago-it sat empty, waiting for its new owner.  I’m pretty sure that it was too ugly and too much in disrepair for anyone to even consider buying.  Then we came along.

The house met all of our criteria for purchasing a home in Carrollton:  located in an economically challenged and needy area, space for a home office for my husband, a main living area that could host a gathering of people.  There was just one criteria that hadn’t officially been on our list that I didn’t know I’d had– until we were faced with offering on the house.  I wanted a cute house- and this particular home did not fit my cute house criteria.

Three or so months later-it still doesn’t fit my idea of cute.  And that is ok.  I am learning that a portion of my identity need not be wrapped up in whether or not my home is attractive.  I’m not really sure how I came to believe that in the first place.  Although I have a sneaking suspicion where it came from.

Daily, I fight multiple battles to find my identity in Christ alone.  Having an attractive home is just one example of these battles.  I’m pretty sure it’s a first-world problem.  One of those first world problems that has crept into the American church as a whole.

In just a few weeks, we will move into our blue metal roofed-blue shuttered-red brick, rather non-cute house.  God willing, we’ll live our lives trying to reach our neighbors for Christ.  I hope when they see us–when they see me– they’ll see so much of the love of Jesus that an unattractive house won’t matter.  Maybe they’ll even see that we chose this particular house just to serve, befriend, love and reach them.

God wants us in this particular house, on this particular street, with this particular set of neighbors and we plan to live as though God sent us on a mission to this particular part of Carrollton.

“For the love of Christ compels us, because we have concluded this:  that one has died for all, that those who live might no longer live for themselves but for him who for their sake died and was raised.”  2 Corinthians 5:14-15

Endeavoring to no longer live for myself–cute house or not 😉

Leave a Reply

